Meetings Lists for Addicts – Atheists and Agnostics

/Meetings Lists for Addicts – Atheists and Agnostics
Meetings Lists for Addicts – Atheists and Agnostics 2017-03-05T08:54:00+00:00

Here are links to Twelve Step fellowship websites that should all offer meetings lists for addicts. I hope that one day all addicts who travel will find a Secular Twelve Step group at their destination. By 2010 there were over 115,000 Alcoholics Anonymous groups in 150 countries with an estimated membership of over 2.1 million. The internet address is www.aa.org. (Googling agnostic AA NYC or atheists AA meetings will produce information on non-religious groups.)

Narcotics Anonymous

www.na.org seems to be the next most widespread with 58,000 meetings in 131 countries.

Other chemical dependency groups include

Cocaine Anonymous at www.ca.org

Crystal Meth Anonymous at www.crystalmeth.org

Marijuana Anonymous at www.marijuana-anonymous.org

Nicotine Anonymous at www.nicotine-anonymous.org.

Overeaters Anonymous

www.oa.org has more meetings, 65,000 with about 54,000 members, though only in 75 countries.

Gamblers

Debtors Anonymous www.debtorsanonymous.org

Gamblers Anonymous www.gamblersanonymous.org tackle related problems.

Another related trio are

Sex Addicts Anonymous at www.sexaa.org

Sex & Love Addicts Anonymous at www.slaafws.org

Sexaholics Anonymous at www.sa.org.

Further Twelve Step programs in alphabetical order are:

Clutterers Anonymous at www.clutterersanonymous.net

Emotions Anonymous at www.emotionsanonymous.org (this comes up when you look up anger)

Violence Anonymous at www.violenceanonymous.com (this group has only one meeting a week via a phone conference line)

Workaholics Anonymous at www.workaholics-anonymous.com.

To this list we can now add this book www.addicts12steps.com and www.alcoholics12steps.com which is the site associated with my previous book, An Atheists Unofficial Guide to AA.

There is even a joke site you will find by looking up Meetings Anonymous. But I have a better one. The meetings of Workaholics Anonymous are small in number at only 50 internationally. It has been suggested that this program is slow to expand because its members are too busy to attend meetings. Perhaps they would proliferate if they were called business meetings.

Also we should not forget family support groups

ACOA or Adult Children of Alcoholics at www.adultchildren.org

Al Anon/Alateen at www.al-anon.org for family and friends of alcoholics

The same in the case of narcotics NarAnon at www.nar-anon.org

CODA or Co-dependency Anonymous at www.coda.org

COSA or Co-dependents of Sex Addicts at www.cosa-recovery.org.

There are plenty of options so, as it nearly says in the Big Book, join us as we stride purposefully along the road of happy destiny.